Application process European (EEA) students / non-European students

The application procedures for European (EEA) students and non-European students vary due to a number of differing rules and regulations.

European (EEA) students

The EEA includes all members of the European Union:  Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, plus Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Liechtenstein.

Check the application process for European (EEA) students.

Non-European students 

If you do not hold a passport from one of the countries listed above, you qualify as a non-European student.

Check the application process for Non-European students.


Curious about the application deadline, payment deadline and the first day of lectures?  You can find all important dates on the deadlines page. 

Dutch and German students

Dutch students should visit the Aanmelden en inschrijven page for details about the application process. If you are from Germany, you might want to head straight for the German website of VHL.